Without a doubt, Instagram stands out as one of the leading social media platforms in our current generation. Every person and their dog are on the network. Brands and companies use it to reach the millions of users who log into the site on a daily basis. It has completely revolutionized businesses and relationships worldwide.
But as you browse through the photos and videos, there is always that possibility of it leaving or having a negative effect on you. As a result, you may want to either leave the platform for a while or even permanently. This article seeks to advise such users.
Deactivating or deleting your Instagram account
If you are looking for a break from Instagram, you have two options.
Deactivating your Instagram accounting is a recommended option if you only want to get away from the platform temporarily. It gives you the opportunity of using your account as well as accessing all the content that you had posted on it. Once you choose to deactivate your account, you will be invisible to everyone on the platform. People might be able to see the messages that you posted a while back, but they will not be able to find you even if they search for your profile.
To deactivate your account, follow the steps outlined below:
– Search for the official Instagram website and click on it.
– Using your credentials, log in to the account.
– Once you are at your home screen, look to the top right corner of the screen for the profile icon. A menu will pop up. Select on profile.
– Tap on ‘Edit profile’ and you will be moved on to settings.
– Navigate to the bottom of the page, where you will see a blue icon that says “Temporarily deactivate my account”.
– If successful, you will receive a notification saying that you have temporarily disabled your account.
Deletion of your account is the next option. If you have made the decision that you no longer want to be on Instagram, this is the choice for you. All the content that you have posted on the platform over the years will be deleted permanently.
Knowing that you might regret the choice. Instagram has made it harder for you to delete your account. This is to make you think twice about removing all the hard work, time, and resources that you have put into building your account.
Follow the next steps to delete your account:
– Using your credentials, log into the account.
– Instagram will ask you to choose a reason why you are deleting your Instagram account.
– From the reasons that you have selected, Instagram will seek to offer you other solutions, apart from deleting your account.
– If you still want to delete your account, scroll to the bottom and tap on “Continue”. Re-enter your password and select the permanently delete option.
Instagram is a powerful and engaging platform. However, you can become tired of this app, that’s why above we have compiled a list of necessary steps to get your Instagram account deactivated or deleted. Hope this article will come in handy when you decide to have a break from social media hassle.